ICE (hockey) ICE (hockey) BABY! That’s UK Ice Hockey…

So the bandwagon is well and truly rolling…or should that be skating? I’ve had a couple of really nice emails from Nottingham Panthers in the Elite League, and Swindon Wildcats in the Premier League.

The first thing I’ve learned about ice hockey is that big cats make incongruously popular team names. Surely penguins, polar bears and mammoths would be more appropriate? But seeing as I come from a team whose mascot is a fictional bird, I’ll shut up. Here are the emails – Nottingham Panthers first up:

Re: I could be your new diehard fan!
To: Richard Jones

Hi Richie,

Welcome, looking forward to seeing you at a game in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Nicola Strachan
Community Officer
Nottingham Panthers Ltd

Ok, so they’re busy over there – they’re second in the Elite league, so i’ll excuse them the short email for now. Next we have the Swindon Wildcats:

Re: I could be your new biggest fan!‏
To: Richard Jones

Hi Richie,

thanks for your email!
It made me smile!
Have you been to the ice hockey before?
We would be happy to have you as our fan.

Kind regards

Julia

That’s nice! I’m making people smile. Hear that Tom Hicks Jr? I really need to rise above the negative. This is a new start, let’s not sully it.

Peace.

One Response to “ICE (hockey) ICE (hockey) BABY! That’s UK Ice Hockey…”

  1. Rudi Young Says:

    Richie

    If you followed Tom Hicks Jr’s instructions and blew him, it might make him smile too! Is Nicola daughter of Gordon by the way?

    Rudi
    West London Gooner with big sympathy for the ‘Pool.

Leave a comment